All Grand Slams to use 10-point tiebreaker in final set

All 4 Grand Slam tennis tournaments will now use a 10-point tiebreaker when matches attain 6-6 in the final set.

The Grand Slam Board introduced the trial transfer, taking impact instantly, on behalf of the Australian, French and U.S. Opens and Wimbledon on Wednesday.

“The Grand Slam Board’s decision is based on a strong desire to create greater consistency in the rules of the game at the Grand Slams, and thus enhance the experience for the players and fans alike,” it stated.

The Australian Open already makes use of the 10-point tiebreaker. The French Open, which begins Could 22, was the one main to not use a deciding tiebreaker. Wimbledon had employed a seven-point tiebreaker from 12-12, and the U.S. Open used a seven-point tiebreaker from 6-6.

“Under this trial, if the score reaches six games all in the final set, the match winner(s) will be the first player(s) to win 10 points with an advantage of two or more points,” the Grand Slam Board stated.

The plan has been authorized by the Guidelines of Tennis Committee ruled by the Worldwide Tennis Federation and applies to all Grand Slams throughout qualifying, males’s singles and doubles, ladies’s singles and doubles, wheelchair and junior occasions in singles.

Rule adjustments have been wanted John Isner beat Nicolas Mahut 70-68 in the final set of their first spherical match at Wimbledon in 2010. The match lasted 11 hours, 5 minutes and stretched over three days.

“The Grand Slam Board plans to review the trial during the course of a full Grand Slam year, in consultation with the WTA, ATP and ITF, before applying for any permanent rule change,” it added.


Extra AP tennis: and

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.