LPGA changes Hall requirements and brings in founders, Ochoa

Already in the World Golf Hall of Fame, Lorena Ochoa now will get a spot in the LPGA Hall of Fame alone with eight of the LPGA’s founders.

The LPGA introduced modifications to its Hall of Fame standards on Tuesday, which incorporates lifting the requirement that gamers full 10 years on tour.

LPGA gamers earn two factors for a significant and one level for a win or main award. The requirement for its Hall of Fame is 27 factors, 10 years on tour and one main or award. Ochoa had 37 factors, however performed solely seven years earlier than retiring to begin a household.

The Mexican star was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2017.

The LPGA is also inducting the remaining eight founders — 5 beforehand made it into its Hall of Fame — by way of the honorary class. They’re Alice Bauer, Bettye Danoff, Helen Dettweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Sally Periods, Marilyn Smith and Shirley Spork, the one nonetheless alive. The LPGA was based in 1950.

Smith beforehand was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

The LPGA’s Hall of Fame committee additionally determined to award some extent for an Olympic gold medal retroactive to the 2016 Olympics. Inbee Park, already in the LPGA Hall of Fame, received in 2016 in Rio de Janeiro and Nelly Korda received final summer time in Tokyo.


Extra AP golf: and

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.