Women’s Champions League Final: Lyon beat Barcelona 3-1 to win eighth European crown

Ada Hegerberg dives in to score against Barcelona
Ada Hegerberg has scored an unmatched 59 goals in 60 Champions League games

Lyon returned to the pinnacle of European football with an eighth Champions League title courtesy of a superb 3-1 victory over tournament favourites Barcelona in a gripping final in Turin.

The French side came into the game as underdogs against a Barca side that had lost just once in a season that included a flawless La Liga-winning campaign.

But the most decorated side in the women’s game started superbly, pressing high and picking apart the Catalans to charge into a 3-0 first-half lead.

Amandine Henry struck a brilliant long-range strike to give them a lead that was doubled by a header from Ada Hegerberg, returning to Europe’s biggest stage for the first time since her 20-month injury lay-off.

The Norwegian forward then turned provider to set up Catarina Macario for a close-range finish to leave a shell-shocked Barca reeling.

Ballon d’Or holder Alexia Putellas gave Barcelona hope just before the break with a low finish – her 33rd goal of the season and 11th of this Champions League campaign.

Jonatan Giraldez’s side then threw everything they could at Lyon, including an ambitious effort from Patricia Guijarro from close to halfway that hammered the bar, but the French side held firm to reclaim the European crown they last held in 2020.

More to follow.


Barcelona Femenino

Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Paños
  • 8TorrejónSubstituted forCrnogorcevicat 59′minutes
  • 2ParedesBooked at 85mins
  • 4LeónBooked at 33mins
  • 16RolföSubstituted forPinaat 76′minutes
  • 14Bonmatí
  • 12Guijarro Gutiérrez
  • 11Putellas
  • 7Hansen
  • 10HermosoSubstituted forOshoalaat 45′minutes
  • 9Caldentey OliverSubstituted forMartensat 59′minutes


  • 5Serrano
  • 6Pina
  • 15Ouahabi
  • 17Pereira
  • 18Crnogorcevic
  • 20Oshoala
  • 22Martens
  • 23Engen
  • 24Font
  • 30Muñoz

Lyon Féminines

Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Endler
  • 12CarpenterSubstituted forBuchananat 14′minutes
  • 29Mbock BathySubstituted forCaymanat 81′minutes
  • 3Renard
  • 4Bacha
  • 26Horan
  • 6Henry
  • 20CascarinoSubstituted forMorroniat 81′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 13MacárioBooked at 64mins
  • 28MalardSubstituted forLe Sommerat 72′minutes
  • 14HegerbergBooked at 45mins


  • 5Morroni
  • 8Gunnarsdóttir
  • 9Le Sommer
  • 11Egurrola
  • 16Bouhaddi
  • 17van de Donk
  • 18Sombath
  • 19Laurent
  • 21Buchanan
  • 23Cayman
  • 25Benyahia
  • 40Holmgren

Live Text

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.